How to Say the Rosary

Start with the sign of the cross and the Apostles' Creed. Then the Our Father on the large bead, the Hail Mary on each of the three small beads. There three Hail Mary's are said for an increase in the three theological virtues, faith, hope and charity. Then and add the Glory Be.

Choose a set of Mysteries from the following below. Think about the first Mystery while you pray the Our Father on the large bead, the Hail Mary on each of the ten small beads, and add the Glory Be at the end. The Fatima prayer may be added after the Glory Be. This is called a decade of the rosary. Think about the other four Mysteries while you pray each decade in the same way.

You can stop after any decade and pick it up later at the next decade. Your rosary has five decades, and the Mysteries come in groups of five. That's the usual amount for a day. But you can use all fifteen Mysteries and go around the rosary three times, if you wish.

At the end of five or all fifteen decades, add the Hail, Holy Queen.


The Joyful Mysteries (Mondays and Thursdays; Sundays of Advent.)

1. The Annunciation: Mary learns from the Angel Gabriel that God wishes her to be the mother of God and humbly accepts. (Luke 1:26-38)

2. The Visitation: Mary goes to visit her cousin Elizabeth and is praised by her as "blessed among women." (Luke 1:39-56)

3. The Nativity: Mary gives birth to Jesus in the stable at Bethlehem. (Luke 2:1-20)

4. The Presentation: Mary and Joseph present Jesus to His Heavenly Father in the Temple of Jerusalem forty days after His birth. (Luke 2:22-39)

5. The Finding in the Temple: After searching for three days, Mary and Joseph find the twelve-year-old Jesus sitting in the Temple discussing the law with the learned doctors. (Luke 2:42-52)

The Sorrowful Mysteries (Tuesdays and Fridays; Sundays of Lent.)

1. The Agony in the Garden: The thought of our sins and His coming suffering causes the agonizing Savior to sweat blood (hematidrosis). (Luke 22:39-44)

2. The Scourging: Jesus is stripped and unmercifully scourged until His body is one mass of bloody wounds. (Matt. 27:26)

3. The Crowning with Thorns: Jesus's claim to kingship is ridiculed by putting a crown of thorns on His head and a reed in His hand. (Matt. 27:28- 31)

4. The Carrying of the Cross: Jesus shoulders His own cross and carries it to the place of crucifixion while Mary follows Him sorrowing. (Luke 23:26- 32)

5. The Crucifixion: Jesus is nailed to the cross and dies after three hours of agony witnessed by His Mother. (Matt. 27:33-50)

The Glorious Mysteries (Sundays except during Advent and Lent, Wednesdays and Saturdays.)

1. The Resurrection: Jesus rises from the dead on Easter Sunday, glorious and immortal, as He has predicted. (Matt. 28:1-7)

2. The Ascension: Jesus ascends into Heaven forty days after His resurrection to sit at the right hand of God the Father. (Luke 24:50-51)

3. The Descent of the Holy Spirit: Jesus sends the Holy Spirit in the form of fiery tongues on His Apostles and disciples. (Acts 2:2-4)

4. The Assumption: Mary, having completed the course of her earthly life, is assumed body and soul into heavenly glory.

5. The Coronation: Mary is crowned as Queen of heaven and earth, Queen of angels and saints.

The Luminous Mysteries (Thursdays)

1. The Baptism in the Jordan

2. The Wedding at Cana

3.The Proclamation of the Kingdom

4. The Transfiguration

5. The Institution of the Eucharist