How to Say the Rosary

Author: NA

How to Say the Rosary

Start with the sign of the cross and the Apostles' Creed. Then the Our
Father on the large bead, the Hail Mary on each of the three small beads,
and add the Glory Be.

Choose a set of Mysteries from the following below. Think about the first
Mystery while you pray the Our Father on the large bead, the Hail Mary on
each of the ten small beads, and add the Glory Be at the end. This is
called a decade of the rosary. Think about the other four Mysteries while
you pray each decade in the same way.

You can stop after any decade and pick it up later at the next decade. Your
rosary has five decades, and the Mysteries come in groups of five. That's
the usual amount for a day. But you can use all fifteen Mysteries and go
around the rosary three times, if you wish.


In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost. Amen.


I believe in God the Father Almighty, Creator of heaven and
earth; and in Jesus Christ, His only Son, our Lord; Who was
conceived by the Holy Ghost, born of the Virgin Mary, suffered
under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died and was buried. He
descended into hell; the third day He rose again from the dead;
He ascended into heaven, sitteth at the right hand of God, the
Father Almighty; from thence He shall come to judge the living
and the dead. I believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy Catholic
Church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the
resurrection of the body, and life everlasting. Amen.


Our Father, Who art in heaven, hallowed by Thy name, Thy kingdom
come; Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this
day our daily bread; and forgive us our trespasses, as we
forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into
temptation; but deliver us from evil. Amen.


Hail, Mary, full of grace; the Lord is with thee; blessed art
thou among women, and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus.
Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners, now and at the
hour of our death. Amen.


Glory be to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit.
As it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world
without end. Amen.


Mondays and Thursdays; Sundays of Advent.

1. The Annunciation: Mary learns from the Angel Gabriel that God
wishes her to be the mother of God and humbly accepts. (Luke

2. The Visitation: Mary goes to visit her cousin Elizabeth and
is praised by her as "blessed among women." (Luke 1:39-56)

3. The Nativity: Mary gives birth to Jesus in the stable at
Bethlehem. (Luke 2:1-20)

4. The Presentation: Mary and Joseph present Jesus to His
Heavenly Father in the Temple of Jerusalem forty days after His
birth. (Luke 2:22-39)

5. The Finding in the Temple: After searching for three days,
Mary and Joseph find the twelve-year-old Jesus sitting in the
Temple discussing the law with the learned doctors. (Luke

Tuesdays and Fridays; Sundays of Lent.

1. The Agony in the Garden: The thought of our sins and His
coming suffering causes the agonizing Savior to sweat blood.
(Luke 22:39-44)

2. The Scourging: Jesus is stripped and unmercifully scourged
until His body is one mass of bloody wounds. (Matt. 27:26)

3. The Crowning with Thorns: Jesus's claim to kingship is
ridiculed by putting a crown of thorns on His head and a reed in
His hand. (Matt. 27:28- 31)

4. The Carrying of the Cross: Jesus shoulders His own cross and
carries it to the place of crucifixion while Mary follows Him
sorrowing. (Luke 23:26- 32)

5. The Crucifixion: Jesus is nailed to the cross and dies after
three hours of agony witnessed by His Mother. (Matt. 27:33-50)

Sundays (except Advent and Lent), Wednesdays and Saturdays.

1. The Resurrection: Jesus rises from the dead on Easter Sunday,
glorious and immortal, as He has predicted. (Matt. 28:1-7)

2. The Ascension: Jesus ascends into Heaven forty days after His
resurrection to sit at the right hand of God the Father. (Luke

3. The Descent of the Holy Spirit: Jesus sends the Holy Spirit
in the form of fiery tongues on His Apostles and disciples.
(Acts 2:2-4)

4. The Assumption: Mary's soul returns to God and her glorified
body is taken up into heaven and reunited with her soul.

5. The Coronation: Mary is crowned as Queen of heaven and earth,
Queen of angels and saints.