Communities which celebrate the Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite

Communities which celebrate
the Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite

Under the direction of the Holy See, a number of communities of men and of women have been established in which the traditional sacramental forms are ordinarily celebrated. Altogether there are approximately 19 institutes of men and 16 of women worldwide. The following are the most notable ones present in the United States.

Communities of Men:

Priestly Fraternity of St. Peter
Very Rev Father John Berg FSSP, Superior General
Erected in 1988. Has houses in Atlanta, Dallas, Denver, Indianapolis, Lincoln, Omaha, Phoenix, Sacramento and 23 other US and Canadian cities, as well as Europe, Africa, South America and Australia.

Institute of Christ the King Sovereign Priest 
Right Rev Monsignor Gilles Wach ICRSS, Prior General
Erected in 1990 in Italy. Has houses in Chicago, Rockford, Green Bay, Oakland, St. Louis, Kansas City MO and elsewhere in the US and 9 other countries. A women's community associated with the Institute, Sister Adorers of the Royal Heart of Jesus Sovereign Priest, is located in Italy.

Our Lady of the Annunciation Monastery of Clear Creek
Very Rev Dom Philip Anderson, OSB, Prior
A Benedictine foundation of the Abbey of Notre Dame de Fontgombault, France, which was one of the first communities to celebrate the Traditional Latin Mass after the promulgation of the new rite by Pope Paul VI.

Canons Regular of Saint John Cantius
Fr. C. Frank Phillips, C.R., Superior
A diocesan institute founded at the parish of St. John Cantius in Chicago, where both the Ordinary Form and Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite are celebrated solemnly.

Monks of the Most Blessed Virgin Mary of Carmel
Very Rev Father Daniel Mary Schneider, M.Carm., Prior
A Carmelite community established in the diocese of Cheyenne, Wyoming.

Communities of Women

Benedictines of Mary, Queen of Apostles 
Very Rev Mother Therese McNamara, OSB, Prioress
First established in the diocese of Scranton, OH, the monastery of this contemplative community is now located in Kansas City, Missouri.

Order of Discalced Carmelites - Carmel of Jesus, Mary and Joseph
Very Rev Mother Teresa of Jesus, O.C.D., Prioress
A community of contemplative nuns located in the diocese of Lincoln, NE.