The Jubilee in Church History
1300 On Christmas 1299, in the wake of much suffering from war and plague, many people came to Rome, to repent at the tombs of Sts. Peter and Paul. In response, Pope Boniface VII proclaimed a "year of forgiveness of all sins". 1300 was thus the first ordinary Jubilee year.
1350 While the Apostolic See was in Avignon, France (1305-1377), Pope Clement VI called for a Jubilee every fifty years, marking 1350 as the time for the second. He also added St. John Lateran to the Basilicas of Sts. Peter and Paul to be visited by jubilee pilgrims. Pope Urban VI increased the frequency of Jubilees to every thirty-three years, according to Our Lordís span of life on earth.
1390 Accordingly Pope Boniface IX opened the Holy Door Christmas Eve 1390.
1400 But the number of pilgrims was so great he called another Holy Year in 1400.
1425 Pope Martin V proclaimed a Holy Year twenty-five years later (rather than thirty-three), with a commemorative Medal and the opening of a Holy Door in St. John Lateran.
1450 Pope Nicholas V followed suit, calling for a Holy Year in 1450,  and in 1470 Pope Paul II fixed frequency at every twenty-five years.
1475 Accordingly, 1475 was proclaimed the next Holy Year by Pope Sixtus IV, who ordered the building of the Sistine Chapel and the Sixtus Bridge over the Tiber for the occasion.
1500 For the eighth Jubilee, Pope Alexander VI ordered the Doors in the four major basilicas to be opened at once, the Pope himself opening the Holy Door of St. Peterís.
1525 The ninth jubilee was called by Pope Clement VII with the Protestant Reformation on the horizon.
1550 Proclaimed by Paul III, the next Holy Year was opened by Pope Julius III, at which St. Philip Neri was present, helping to assist with the massive influx of pilgrims.
1575 The numbers increased. In the 11th Holy Year, called by Pope Gregory VIII, as many as 300,000 pilgrims came to Rome from all over Europe.
1600 12th Jubilee, called by Pope Clement VIII
1650 13th Jubilee, called by Pope Urban VIII
1675 14th Jubilee, called by Pope Clement X
1700 To accommodate pilgrims to Rome, Pope Innocent X established the Hospice St. Michele a Ripa, one of Romeís best known charitable institutions.
1725 Similar institutions were opened to accommodate pilgrims for the next Holy Year, called by Pope Benedict XIII.
1750 In the 17th Holy Year, called by Pope Benedict XIV, St. Leonard of Port Maurice set up the Stations of the Cross in the ruins of the Coliseum.
1775 Pope Clement XIV announced the Jubilee, but the Holy Door was opened by his successor Pope Pius VI. Pope Pius VII declined to call a Holy Year for 1800, while Napoleon ruled.
1825 More than half a million pilgrims journeyed to Rome for the 19th Holy Year, for which Pope Leo XII substituted Santa Maria in Trastevere for St Paulís as a pilgrimage site, since the latter was being rebuilt after a fire. In 1850, unsettled conditions in Rome, with the temporary exile of Pope Pius IX, prevented calling a Holy Year.
1875 Pope Pius IX did proclaim the next Holy Year, even though the Holy Door was not opened due to the occupation of Rome by King Vittorio Emmanuele.
1900 At the 21st Jubilee, Pope Leo XIII opened the 20th century with six beatifications and two canonizations (St Jean Baptist de La Salle and St Rita of Cascia).
1925 For the next Holy Year, Pope Pius XI asked the faithful to pray for peace among peoples, in order to gain the Jubilee Indulgence.
1950 For the mid-20th century, Pope Pius XII called for the following intentions: prayer and penance for the sanctification of souls, unfailing faith in Christ and His Church, action for peace and protection of the Holy Places, defense of the Church against her enemies, prayers for faith to be given unbelievers and those in error, promotion of social justice, and assistance of the poor and needy. In the same Holy Year, the Pope defined the Assumption of Our Lady as a dogma of the Catholic Faith.
1975 The last ordinary Jubilee, called by Pope Paul VI, had two main themes, Renewal and Reconciliation, to guide the faithful toward the Third Millennium.