Having trouble viewing Wings? Click here 
Forward Email
Wings - EWTN's Weekly Electronic Newsletter
Week of May 8, 2009

Pope Benedict XVI Visit to the Holy Land May 8-15, 2009

You are Invited to EWTN Family Celebration, Birmingham, AL. August 8-9, 2009

Online Donations - Remember to keep us between your gas and electric bill.

UPDATE ON MOTHER Click for more information

FAMILY NEWSLETTER Click for more information

HOLY FATHER'S PRAYER INTENTIONS FOR 2009 Click for more information
 

FEATURES
WHAT'S NEW Click for more information

BLOGS
"Joan's Rome" -
Insights and Observations from
the Heart of the Church
Click for more information

"Seen & Unseen"  -
Raymond Arroyo's News Blog
Click for more information

"Power & Witness"
- Fr. Mark's Blog
Click for more information

"A Catholic Journalist in London"
- Joanna Bogle
Click for more information

PODCASTS
Podcasting   Click for more information

Check out our monthly podcast
for May
Click for more information
Living the scriptures with Mother Angelica


New in the Audio Library Click for more information
Crossing The Goal - MP3
 

RELIGIOUS CATALOGUE FEATURED ITEM
COMFORT CROSS WITH RELIC  Click for more information

Comfort Cross with Relic

Click to order this item
More from Religious Catalogue


EWTN HOME VIDEO HIGHLIGHT FOR MAY


The Quest for Shakespeare
“The Quest for Shakespeare” is EWTN Home Video’s highlight for May. Hosted by author, educator, and British literary expert Joseph Pearce. Was Shakespeare Catholic, and if so, is it much ado about nothing? Find out in this 4-disc, 6 -hour series. “The Quest for Shakespeare” is available on DVD from EWTN Religious Catalogue, 1-800-854-6316.

Click to order this item


NEWS HEADLINES
Click for more information
XML

LIBRARY RECENT ADDITIONS

Father Edward McNamara - Gregorian Masses Click for more information
Pope Benedict XVI - Rejoice! Christ is risen! Alleluia  Click for more information

Carl Anderson - An Axis of Secularism  Click for more information
Pope Benedict XVI - Address to Young People of Madrid Receiving the World
Youth Day Cross
 Click for more information
Fr. Raniero Cantalamessa, O.F.M. Cap - Preacher of the Papal Household's Homily: Good Friday 2009  Click for more information
Pope Benedict XVI - On the Meaning of Holy Week  Click for more information
Pope Benedict XVI - Address Following the Way of the Cross: Good Friday 2009
 Click for more information

Image of EWTNKids logo

Saints and other Holy people


FOR QUESTIONS OR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT EWTN CONTACT VIEWER RESPONSE
AT: viewer@ewtn.com

Do Not Send An Email Reply to this Newsletter.

PROGRAMMING HIGHLIGHTS FOR THE WEEK Click for more information EWTN News Director Raymond Arroyo will anchor EWTN's papal coverage

ARRIVAL AND VISIT TO THE REGINA PACIS CENTER (2hr)
Pope Benedict XVI begins his visit to the Holy Land. He will arrive at Queen Alia airport in the Jordanian capital, Amman, after which he will visit the Regina Pacis center.
Fri 5/08/09 7:30 AM ET / 4:30 AM PT LIVE
Fri 5/08/09 9:30 PM ET / 6:30 PM PT


VISIT TO THE KING AND QUEEN OF JORDAN (1hr)
Fri 5/08/09 10:30 AM ET / 7:30 AM PT LIVE
Fri 5/08/09 11:30 PM ET / 8:30 PM PT


MOUNT NEBO & MADABA (1 3/4 hrs)
In the morning, the Pope will visit the Memorial of Moses on Mount Nebo, and bless the cornerstone of the Patriarchate of Jerusalem's Madaba University. He will then visit the Hashemite Museum and the Mosque of al-Hussein bin Talal in Amman, and he will meet with Muslim religious leaders, the diplomatic corps and rectors of Jordanian universities.
Sat 5/09/09 2:15 AM ET / (Fri) 11:15 PM PT LIVE
Sat 5/09/09 1:00 PM ET/ 10 AM PT


POPE BENEDICT XVI IN THE HOLY LAND MEETING WITH MUSLIM
LEADERS (1 hr)

Sat 5/09/09 4:30 AM ET / 1:30 AM PT LIVE
Sat 5/09/09 4:00 PM ET / 1 PM PT


VESPERS (90 min)
Pope Benedict XVI will preside at the celebration of Vespers with priests, religious, seminarians and ecclesial movements in the Greek-Melkite cathedral of St. George in Amman.
Sat 5/09/09 10:30 AM ET / 7:30 AM PT LIVE
Sat 5/09/09 6:00 PM ET / 3 PM PT


MASS IN AMMAN (2 1/2 hrs)
The Holy Father will celebrate Mass and pray the Regina Coeli at the international stadium in Amman.
Sun 5/10/09 3:00 AM ET / 12 AM PT LIVE
Sun 5/10/09 2:00 PM ET / 11 AM PT


BETHANY BEYOND THE JORDAN (90 mins)
The Holy Father will visit Bethany Beyond the Jordan, site of the Lord's Baptism, where he will bless the cornerstones of the Latin and Greek-Melkite churches.
Sun 5/10/09 10:30 AM ET / 7:30 AM PT LIVE
Sun 5/10/09 9:00 PM ET / 6 PM PT


DEPARTURE FROM AMMAN (30 min)
Mon 5/11/09 3:00 AM ET/ 12 AM PT LIVE
Mon 5/11/09 2:30 PM ET / 11:30 AM PT

More Papal Coverage Click for more information

 

RADIO HIGHLIGHTS Joan Lewis

EWTN Rome Bureau Chief Joan Lewis will not only be covering Pope Benedict XVI’s trip to the Holy Land for television, along with EWTN News Director and Anchor Raymond Arroyo, but she will also be making special appearances on EWTN Radio.

In addition to “NewsLinks” each day of the papal visit, listeners can hear Lewis on:

“Son Rise Morning Show” with Brian Patrick at 7 a.m. ET.
“Catholic Connection” with Teresa Tomeo at 9 a.m. ET. Also joining Tomeo is
     Catholic Convert Steve Ray, author, producer and host of the “Footprints of God
     series (click here to order), and a certified guide to the Holy Land.

“Open Line” at 3 p.m. ET
“Kresta in the Afternoon” at 5 p.m. ET, when possible (pre-taped)

As most of these interviews will be live, this schedule is subject to change depending on events.

EWTN BOOKMARK

Following Mary to Jesus: Our Lady as Mother, Teacher, and AdvocateMOTHER BENEDICT: FOUNDRESS OF THE ABBEY OF REGINA LAUDIS, BY ANTOINETTE BOSCO

MOTHER DOLORES HART, O.S.B.

Mother Dolores Hart and Mother Noella Marcellina join Bookmark Host Doug Keck to talk about the Abbey of Regina Laudis, their Benedictine community in Bethlehem, Connecticut. In discussing a recent biography about their foundress, Doug said that “Mother Benedict Duss’ undaunted spirit reminds us a great deal of our own Mother Angelica.”

Click to order this item
More from EWTN Bookmark

 

EWTN LIVE SHOWS
LIVE Shows allow viewers to get involved via email and telephone.
FRIDAY - MAY 8, 8PM ET / 5PM PT

THE WORLD OVER: HOST RAYMOND ARROYO -
Fr. Tom Euteneuer, HLI pres., The Rite of Exorcism; Author Mary Beth Hicks, raising your children in an often hostile culture Click for more information

SUNDAY - MAY 10, 7PM ET / 4PM PT
SUNDAY NIGHT: LIVE WITH FR. GROESCHEL
 
- Christ in Our Lives, #4: Christ Comes Again,. Msgr. James C. Turro, Adjunct Prof., St. Joseph Seminary, Yonkers Click for more information

MONDAY - MAY 11, 8PM ET / 5PM PT
THE JOURNEY HOME: HOST MARCUS GRODI  - Clyde Pearce, former Mormon
bishop
Click for more information

TUESDAY - MAY 12, 8PM ET / 4PM PT
MOTHER ANGELICA
LIVE CLASSIC -The Miracles of Jesus  Click for more information

TUESDAY - MAY 12, 10PM ET / 7PM PT
THRESHOLD OF HOPE: HOST FR. MITCH PACWA  Click for more information

WEDNESDAY - MAY 13, 8PM ET / 5PM PT
EWTN LIVE: HOST FR. MITCH PACWA -
David Clayton, Artist-in-Residence, Thomas More College Art and Catholicism Click for more information

THURSDAY - MAY 14, 8PM ET / 5PM PT
LIFE ON THE ROCK: FR. MARK & DOUG BARRY - Christian and Christine Meert,
Catholic Marriage Prep. Online Click for more information


All Times US Eastern & Pacific
 

EWTN RADIO NETWORK

You can hear classic and brand new episodes of EWTN Bookmark every weekday! John host Doug Keck and noted authors every afternoon (Monday through Friday) at 4:30pm Eastern, 1:30pm on the West Coast. Whether it’s a spiritual classic or something new, EWTN will have it for your review.

You can also hear brand new episodes of EWTN Bookmark immediately following the Sunday morning mass, and on Saturdays following the Chaplet of Divine Mercy…only on the EWTN Global Catholic Radio Network.


Available 24 hours a day via Sirius Radio on channel 160 or on
www.ewtn.com/radio

Need EWTN Radio in your community? To see how you can help, contact John Pepe at  jpepe (at) ewtn.com.

Find an EWTN Radio station in your area Click for more information

View all of EWTN's WORLDWIDE Broadcasts USA, UK, Africa, Europe, and More!