Previous Question Next Question
   
Dipping the host in the cup?
Question from Christy on 1/15/2013:

I would like to receive the precious blood, but really don't want to drink after everyone else, especially in flu season. Is there a "rule" that says I can't take the host and dip it in the wine before I consume it?

Answer by Catholic Answers on 1/16/2013:

Christy--

Yes. Such a practice is known as "self-intinction" and is forbidden. If you are too nervous about germs to receive from the cup in the manner it is offered to you, then you will simply have to forgo receiving the precious blood. A full Communion is made by receiving under either species alone. Receiving both species is unnecessary.

Michelle Arnold
Catholic Answers


COPYRIGHT 2014

Click here to send this Question and Answer to a friend                    

Previous Question Next Question


One of the largest collections of Church documents in the world


Back to topics list.

 

HOME - EWTNews - FAITH - TELEVISION - RADIO - LIBRARY - CHANNEL FINDER WATCH ONLINE - FAQ - EWTNKids
WHAT'S NEW - EWTN MOBI - GENERAL - RELIGIOUS CATALOGUE - PILGRIMAGES - PRESS ROOM - ESPAÑOL

Terms of Use      Privacy Policy      Contact Us

EWTN Global Catholic Network
5817 Old Leeds Rd., Irondale, AL 35210 USA 1-205-271-2900