Previous Question Next Question
Church Fathers
Question from Adam V. on 2/19/2004:

I know who many of the church fathers are, such as Augustine and Basil the Great, but I was wondering where I might find a complete list of all that are considered "Chuch Fathers." Thank You much.

Answer by Matthew Bunson on 2/21/2004:

The Fathers of the Church were some of the greatest saints and theologians in the history of the Church, renowned for their sanctity, wisdom, and learning. The foremost of these Fathers were: Sts. Ambrose, Augustine, Jerome, and Gregory the Great in the West; Sts. John Chrysostom, Basil the Great, Gregory of Nazianzus, and Athanasius in the East. Traditionally, they are divided into the Greek Fathers and the Latin Fathers. They were the following:

Greek Fathers St. Anastasius Sinaita (d. 700). St. Andrew of Crete (d. 740). Aphraates (fourth century). St. Archelaus (d. 282). St. Athanasius (d. 373). Athenagoras (second century). St. Basil the Great (d. 379). St. Caesarius of Nazianzus (d. 369). St. Clement of Alexandria (d. 215). St. Clement I of Rome, Pope (r. 88-97). St. Cyril of Alexandria (d. 444). St. Cyril of Jerusalem (d. 386). Didymus the Blind (d. c. 398). Diodore of Tarsus (d. 392). St. Dionysius the Great (d. c. 264). St. Epiphanius (d. 403). Eusebius of Caesarea (d. 340). St. Eustathius of Antioch (fourth century). St. Firmillian (d. 268). Gennadius I of Constantinople (fifth century). St. Germanus (d. 732). St. Gregory of Nazianzus (d. 390). St. Gregory of Nyssa (d. 395). St. Gregory Thaumaturgus (d. 268). Hermas (second century). St. Hippolytus (d. 236). St. Ignatius of Antioch (d. 107). St. Isidore of Pelusium (d. c. 450). St. John Chrysostom (d. 407). St. John Climacus (d. 649). St. John Damascene (d. 749), last Father of the East. St. Julius I, Pope (r. 337-352). St. Justin Martyr (d. 165). St. Leontius of Byzantium (sixth century). St. Macarius (d. c. 390). St. Maximus the Confessor (d. 662). St. Melito (d. c. 180). St. Methodius of Olympus (d. 311?). St. Nilus the Elder (d. c. 430). Origen (d. 254). St. Polycarp (d. c. 155?). St. Proclus (d. c. 446). Pseudo-Dionysius the Areopagite (sixth century) St. Serapion (d. c. 370). St. Sophronius (d. 638). Tatian (second century). Theodore of Mopsuestia (d. 428). Theodoret of Cyrrhus (d. c. 458). St. Theophilus of Antioch (second century).

Latin Fathers St. Ambrose of Milan (d. 397). Arnobius (d. 330). St. Augustine of Hippo (d. 430) St. Benedict of Nursia (d. c. 550). St. Caesarius of Arles (d. 542). St. John Cassian (d. 435). St. Celestine I, Pope (r. 422-432). St. Cornelius, Pope (r. 251-253). St. Cyprian of Carthage (d. 258). St. Damasus I, Pope (r. 366-384). St. Dionysius, Pope (r. 259-268). St. Ennodius (d. 521). St. Eucherius of Lyons (d. c. 450). St. Fulgentius (d. 533). St. Gregory of Elvira (d. c. 392). St. Gregory I the Great, Pope (r. 590-604). St. Hilary of Poitiers (d. 367). St. Innocent I, Pope (r. 401-417). St. Irenaeus of Lyons (d. c. 202). St. Isidore of Seville (d. 636), last Father of the West. St. Jerome (d. 420). Lactantius (d. 323). St. Leo I the Great (r. 440-461). Marius Mercator (d. 451). Marius Victorinus (fourth century). Minucius Felix (second century). Novatian (d. c. 257). St. Optatus (fourth century). St. Pacian (d. c. 390). St. Pamphilus (d. 309). St. Paulinus of Nola (d. 431). St. Peter Chrysologus (d. 450). St. Phoebadius of Agen (fourth century). Rufinus of Aquileia (d. 410). Salvian (fifth century). St. Siricius, Pope (r. 384-399). Tertullian (d. c. 222). St. Vincent of Lérins (d. c. 450).

The study of the Church Fathers is termed Patristics and is considered a branch of theological study. Patrology is also sometimes used to denote the study of the Fathers.


Click here to send this Question and Answer to a friend                    

Previous Question Next Question

EWTN Now Podcast Your Favorite EWTN Programs

Back to topics list.



Terms of Use      Privacy Policy      Contact Us

EWTN Global Catholic Network
5817 Old Leeds Rd., Irondale, AL 35210 USA 1-205-271-2900