The Holy Father’s visit to the United Kingdom Sept. 16-19 will culminate in the beatification of Cardinal John Henry Newman, whose conversion from Anglicanism to Catholicism cost him his job, his friends and his family. The move also resulted in suspicion from members of both religions until, to his great joy, Pope Leo XIII named him a Cardinal in his older years. Pope Benedict XVI’s U.K. visit will center on the theme, "Cor ad Cor loquitur" ("Heart Speaks to Heart"), the theme Newman chose for his coat of arms in 1879 when he became a Cardinal.

   
Watch TV LIVE Listen RADIO LIVE

 



TV, Radio and Online

Coverage Schedules

Thu. September 16

Arrival in Scotland at 5:30 AM ET / 2:30 AM PT
Visit with Her Majesty The Queen at 6 AM ET /3 AM PT
Mass at Bellahouston Park at 12 PM ET /9 AM ET

Fri. September 17

St. Mary's University at 5:00 AM ET /2 AM PT
Meeting with Youth at 6:30 AM ET / 3:30 AM PT
Meeting with the Archbishop of Canterbury
at 10:30 AM ET / 7:30 AM PT
Westminster Hall at 12:00 PM ET / 9 AM PT
Westminster Abbey at 1PM ET / 10 AM PT

 

Sat. September 18

Mass in Westminster Cathedral at 5:00 AM ET /2 AM PT
Hyde Park at 1:00 PM ET /10 AM PT

 

Sun. September 19

Beatification of Cardinal John Henry Newman
Live at 4:30 AM ET / 1:30 AM PT
( Encore 9:00 PM ET /6 PM PT & 1:00 PM ET /10 AM PT )
Departure at 1:00 PM ET /10 AM PT

Commentary

Raymond Arroyo EWTNews Director, Raymond Arroyo will be providing commentary of this special event.

 

 

Joan's Rome

 

Words

Telegram to Her Majesty Elizabeth II, Queen of the United Kingdom:

....AS I LEAVE THE UNITED KINGDOM AT THE CONCLUSION OF MY APOSTOLIC VISIT I RENEW MY DEEP GRATITUDE TO YOUR MAJESTY FOR THE GRACIOUS WELCOME AND THE MANY KINDNESSES WHICH YOU YOUR GOVERNMENT AND THE BRITISH PEOPLE EXTENDED TO ME DURING MY STAY (.) I ASK ALMIGHTY GOD TO GUIDE THE NATION IN ACCORDANCE .... more


Background

Great Britain - has a surface area of 230,762 square kilometres [29,098 sq. miles] and a population of 59,381,000 of whom 5,264,000 (8.87 percent) are Catholic. There are 32 ecclesiastical circumscriptions [dioceses and equivalent] and 2,977 parishes. Currently there are 59 bishops, 5,225 priests, 6,497 religious, 160 lay members of secular institutes and 34,669 catechists. Minor seminarians number 2, and major seminarians 245. A total of 806,334 children and young people attend 2,828 centres of Catholic education, from kindergartens to universities. ....more

Cardinal Newman

Cardinal John Henry Newman was born in London on 21 February 1801. He was brought up in the Anglican tradition, and as a young man had a strong religious inclination that was mainly expressed in reading the Bible. From his earliest years, Sacred Scripture endowed him with high moral standards..... After being ordained a Catholic priest, Newman founded the Oratory of St Philip Neri in Birmingham.
In his many pastoral and theological activities he worked above all for the intellectual and spiritual formation of the Catholic faithful... more

 

News

Helpful Links

EWTN Channel Finder

Radio Stations Locator

Watch/Listen on iPhone

 

Images
Click Image To View

Pope

 

Resources

History of Catholic in UK

 

Document Library

 

Speeches & Homilies

 

Upcoming
Papal Visits

Papal Visit to Spain

November 6 & 7 2010

 

social media

YouTube Twitter Facebook