Müller, Gerhard Ludwig
Order in College: Cardinal Deacon
With Title: Sant'Agnese in Agone
Native Country: Germany
Appointed by: Pope Francis on 22 February 2014
Ecclesiastical Office:  Prefect of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith 
Papal Elector: Eligible; Ineligible on 31 December 2027

Gerhard Ludwig Müller was born in Mainz-Finthen, the Federal Republic of Germany on 31 December 1947. He studied philosophy and theology in Mainz, Munich and Freiburg im Breisgau and earned his doctorate in 1977. He was ordained a priest on 11 February 1978 and began serving as chaplain in several parishes and as a religious education teacher at secondary schools. He qualified as professor in 1985 under Prof. Lehmann. In 1986 he was appointed professor of Catholic dogmatics at the Ludwig-Maximilian University in Munich, where he taught until 2002. He has been active in the spread and preservation of the Catholic faith as a member of the Commission for Doctrine and Faith of the German Bishops' Conference since 1990, and became a member of the International Theological Commission in 1998. He has served on the Vatican's Synod of European Bishops and International Bishops' Synod in Rome. His research work focuses on ecumenism, modern age theology, theological hermeneutics and ecclesiology. On 24 November 2002 he was ordained a bishop, subsequent to his appointment as Bishop of Regensburg. He played a key role in preparations for Pope Benedict's visit to Regensburg in 2006. He has served as president of the Commission for Ecumenical Relations of the German Bishops' Conference and resumed theological discussions between the German Bishops' Conference and the Moscow Patriarchate. In 2005 he carried out a reform of the diocesan lay apostolates from both a canon law and a pastoral perspective. Then in December 2008 he was appointed as Catholic head to the International Lutheran/Roman Catholic Commission on Unity for the fourth dialogue phase. He also founded the Pope Benedict XVI Institute. Benedict XVI appointed him Prefect of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith and President of the Pontifical Commission Ecclesia Dei, of the Biblical Commission and of the International Theological Commission, elevating him at the same time to the dignity of archbishop.